top of page

On the plebiscite

Dear readers,

It has been two and a half weeks since the plebiscite took place, and I still don't have what I feel are the right words to talk about it. The plebiscite, on October 2nd, was the national vote on whether or not to approve the Peace Accord that was reached in Havana this year between the Colombian government and the FARC. The "no" vote won, by a margin of less than 1%.

As I write this post, I am currently wrestling with the question: How do you explain the inexplicable? It is at times hard to wrap my head around the fact that so many people voted against the Accord, which would have formally ended a 52 year long conflict. I would like to share some of the reasons for voting "no" that I have heard, but first I want to clarify that the fact that I live here does not mean I am an expert. I am grateful that living in Colombia has given me the opportunity to hear many different perspectives on what peace looks like and what the necessary steps to reach it are, but I do not attempt to speak for Colombians or to speak over them. With that disclaimer, let's unpack some of the reasons that "no" won just a few weeks ago. A point of contention for some was the section of the Accord that deals with punishment of the FARC rebels. Many viewed the transitional justice of the Accord as too lenient. Additionally, the Accord would allow members of the FARC to have political representation, which also struck a nerve with some people. Others were offended that an Accord whose end goal was peace made no mention of God. Ex-president Álvaro Uribe, who wields a lot of influence, also had a significant impact on the plebiscite, as he was one of the most prominent voices urging Colombians to vote "no" to the Accord.

I was in shock when the results came in. I felt both taken aback and naive. I had assumed the plebiscite would affirm the Accord, and I had not prepared myself for the opposite outcome. After the vote, the question that must have been on everyone's mind, as surely as it was on mine, was "What happens now?" The answer to that question is still not entirely clear. What I do know is that those who voted "yes" and who supported the Accord will continue working for peace. Additionally, the FARC has stated that peace is still the primary goal, and the government has said the same. The ceasefire has been extended for the time being. President Santos has been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize. Peace talks with the ELN, another armed group, are going to begin in a little over a week. I am encouraged to see how the Presbyterian Church of Colombia (IPC) continues to respond to the results of the plebiscite, and am heartened by the knowledge that hope has not been lost; that a true peace, one based on forgiveness, can be achieved by many hands working together.

You can follow the Colombia Accompaniment Program here for more updates. Please continue to pray for Colombia, its leaders, and its churches, as this situation continues to unfold.

Brittany


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page