top of page

Chevere

Let's start at the very beginning (a very good place to start). Two weeks ago was an intense, wonderful, challenging week of (dis)orientation. All of my YAV class peers gathered in Stony Point, New York for some training together. My favorite part of orientation was meeting in our small groups, where we had time to reflect and process together the topics that we had covered each day and share how we were feeling. Other notable highlights included a visit to Jamaica, Queens and a surprise dance party (just try to picture approximately 70 YAVs dancing to Justin Timberlake's "Can't Stop The Feeling" while screaming the lyrics at one another). There are a few lessons from orientation that really stuck with me:

1. Colombia does not need me. Rather, I am being invited to participate in ministry with my brothers and sisters in the Iglesia Presbiteriana de Colombia (IPC). I am grateful for the opportunity to join this community over the next year.

2. I don't know everything. This is something I will be trying to remind myself of during the course of the year. I am praying that I continue to have an open mind and heart!

3. How comfortable am I with being uncomfortable? We spent a lot of time on the idea that we can learn to sit in our uncomfortable-ness. It is okay to be uncomfortable, and often what makes us uncomfortable is something that will help us grow. As I heard in a sermon before I left home, "If you are not uncomfortable, you probably aren't taking up your cross."

After orientation, Ainsley and I flew to Bogotá, Colombia and met up with our site coordinator, Sarah. I can't believe that I have only been in Colombia a little over a week. It has been such a whirlwind; I feel like I have been here longer! Bogotá was a beautiful city to start our orientation in. It was much colder than I expected it to be (South Carolinians, think "winter weather" for us), but I warmed up quickly by drinking lots of aromática (herbal tea, typically made with mint leaves). One of my favorite parts of our time in Bogotá was visiting the Museo Nacional (National Museum), where I was especially interested in learning about La Revista Ilustrada (a magazine founded in the late 1800s that published only articles related to the arts and sciences, because its founder believed politics to be a divisive force), and the emerald industry in Colombia. We were also able to visit Monserrate, which is a "thin place" above the city, where I was able to spend special time in prayer with God and enjoying the beautiful surroundings.

null

Here in Barranquilla, it is hot and humid. I am enjoying the warm weather immensely! Recently, I was able to meet some of the people I will get to work with this year, and every day I am more and more excited to begin working. My ears are starting to get used to Colombian Spanish, although I have to concentrate very hard when I listen, because people here speak rapidly.

Yesterday was an important day for the Iglesia Presbiteriana de Colombia. The IPC was celebrating 160 years of presence, ministry, and fellowship in Colombia! I was very excited to be able to join the celebration and worship with representatives of the congregations and presbyteries here. To open the service, we sang "Oh, tu fidelidad" (Great is thy faithfulness) together. As I praised God with my brothers and sisters, listened to messages from many members of the IPC, and took communion, I was touched by how included I felt in the service and how connected I felt to the people around me. It was really something special.

On a closing note, here are a couple of Colombian phrases I have picked up this week:

1. "chevere" = cool/awesome/great/sweet

2. "lloralo" = Literally, "cry it." Figuratively, smile and accept the situation for what it is.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please keep me in your prayers and make a financial donation to my year of service by following this link.

Brittany


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page